September212013

mollyiswrappedupinbooks:

I’ve shared individual ones before, but I’m not sure which ones. So here’s a collection of the first 10 Like—>Try—>Why reader’s advisory graphics I’ve made for the library. 

Majorly awesome. 

(via deanybooper)

books 

September112013

——————> The Immortals

Written by Tamora Pierce. Thirteen-year-old DaIne has always had a knack with animals, but it’s not until she’s forced to leave home that she realizes it’s more than a knack — it’s magic. Under Numair’s guidance, Daine explores the scope of her magic. But she begins to sense other beings too: immortals. These bloodthirsty monsters have been imprisoned in the Divine Realms for the past four hundred years, but now someone has broken the barrier. If you enjoy novels with strong female leads or the Song of the Lioness series, you would enjoy Tamora Pierce’s The Immortals Series.

September42013

——————> The Song of the Lioness Series

Written by Tamora Pierce. Though a girl, Alanna has always craved the adventure and daring allowed only for boys; her twin brother, Thom, yearns to learn the art of magic. So one day they decide to switch places: Disguised as a girl, Thom heads for the convent to learn magic; Alanna, pretending to be a boy, is on her way to the castle of King Roald to begin her training as a page. If you enjoy strong female leads in novels, you’ll enjoy Song of the Lioness.

August282013

——————> Brave New World

Written by Aldous Huxley. A towering classic of dystopian satire, Brave New World is a brilliant and terrifying vision of a soulless society—and of one man who discovers the human costs of mindless conformity. Hundreds of years in the future, the World Controllers have created an ideal civilization. Its members, shaped by genetic engineering and behavioral conditioning, are productive and content in roles they have been assigned at conception. If you enjoy dystopian novels, you would enjoy Brave New World.

August212013

—————-> The Mistborn Trilogy

Written by Brandon Sanderson. I find it nearly impossible to find a good fantasy series with a well written female lead, and Brandon Sanderson did amazingly. Creating a fantasy world with an unique premise, The Mistborn Trilogy sucked me in the first time I read it. 

August142013

—————-> The Abhorsen Series

Written by Garth Nix.  A fantasy series revolving around a family of necromancers whose sacred duty is to lay the dead to rest. Despite its fantasy setting this book has an extremely realistic take on the world and a very interesting mythology. One of the best imaginary worlds I’ve ever read.

August72013

——————> Cloudsplitter

Written by Russel Banks. The story of John Brown, following his descent into fanatic abolitionism from the point of view of his son, a hollow young man who becomes an extension of his fathers will. It may be long, but this book is worth every page.

July312013

——————> I, Robot

Written by Isaac Asimov. A strange and sometimes disturbing collection of short stories, blurring the line between man and what we make through a series of allegorical tales about artificial intelligence.

July272013

Free GRAVEYARD BOOK

neil-gaiman:

I just heard that The Graveyard Book has gone back onto the New York Times Bestseller list, at #5. The whole book is waiting for you absolutely free at http://www.mousecircus.com/videotour.aspx, if you do not mind listening to me read it.

(Also, if you want, you can watch me read it.)

But mostly it’s to let people know that it’s there and free, if you think you might like to see what it’s like…

 

 

For those of you who want this. 

July242013

—————-> Ender’s Game

Written by Orson Scott Card. The chilling tale of the training of a young boy into the weapon that could save humanity. Much like its characters, this book is utterly lacking in empathy or compassion as it depicts the casual cruelty of politics and war.

← Older entries Page 1 of 6